One Girl, Two Cities

Vegan Food at the Minnesota State Fair

vegan fried pickles frickles minnesota state fair dairy free egg free Fried Pickles, bring your own ranch

*Find updates to this post on my new website:

You may be surprised to learn that vegans (and those with dairy and egg allergies) can find a variety of things to eat at the Minnesota State Fair! Check out my list below and let me know if there’s anything I should add, or if you think something might not be vegan anymore. 

Disclaimer: I have compiled this list from what I’ve eaten and from other lists I’ve seen online, so I haven’t necessarily tried everything and therefore cannot legitimately recommend everything. Please do your own due diligence and confirm with food vendors about their products as I’ve learned things can change unexpectedly. Examples: Last year, a vendor who had confirmed a new vegan dish decided to add dairy butter within a few days of the fair starting, and this year Hot Indian Foods changed the wrap on their samosas so they’re no longer vegan.

Happy eating!

International Bazaar
Cinnamon Roasted Nuts*
Holy Land Deli – Falafels, grape leaves & more
Island Noodles – Traditional noodles are marked vegan
Panda Palace Asian Cuisine – Vegetable Spring Rolls, Veggie Fried Rice

St. Martin’s Olives on a Stick

Food Building
Falafel King – Falafels with tahini
Harry Singh’s – Anything marked vegetarian should be vegan
Manny’s Tortas – Virgin piña colada and fresh pineapple
Mario’s – Grilled Portobello Veggie Pita or Vegetarian Pita without cheese

Oodles of Noodles – Spicy Thai Noodles, Spaghetti or penne with marinara
Sara’s Tipsy Pies – Irish Apple Pie* marked vegan (see photo below)

Elsewhere in the fair
Ballpark Cafe – Onion rings, garlic fries*
Big Pop: Vegan Cheddar Popcorn (Grandstand lower level)

Chan’s Chicken on a Stick – Vegetable Fried Rice, Veggie Lo Mein
Corn Roast – Hold the butter
Dole Whip – Pineapple or raspberry, marked non-dairy – see comments below
Farmers Union – Offers soy and almond milk 
French Meadow Cafe and Bakery – Baked goods marked vegan (usually a scone and two muffins), Cauliflower Earth Wings
Fresh French Fries – Marked vegan, gluten-free, and kosher
Henry’s Kettle Korn
Juanita’s Fajitas – Veggie Fajita, Bean Bowls without cheese

Minneapple Pie – Apple pie without ice cream
Minnesnowii – Mangonada Shave Ice

Minnesota Apples (Ag/Hort Building) – Apples, cider, frozen apple cider, applesauce
OOF-da Tacos – Vegetarian Taco without cheese
Potato Man and Sweety – Sweety’s Churros without whipped cream, unsure about dipping sauce (warning: see Heavy Table’s review)
Preferred Pickle – Regular or Cajun fried pickles*, bring your own dipping sauce of choice
Produce Exchange (2 locations) – Fresh fruit, grilled peaches, kombucha on tap*
Sonny’s Fair Food – Spiral cut chips
Tiny Footprint Coffee – Offers soy and almond milk

Tot Boss – Plain tots

*My top picks

2018 notes:
French Meadow splits its menus, so you buy the baked goods on the right half (when facing the stand) and Earth Wings on the left half.
I was told that the batter at Vegie Fries contains eggs, and that the batter on the Fried Green Tomatoes contains dairy.

As you can probably guess, many places serve fries, and there are a wide range of beverages to consume so I chose not to include those on the list. I download the Minnesota State Fair App every year since the map has a handy search feature. Keep in mind many places are cash only, and you’ll find ATMs stationed all around the fair if needed.

Minnesota State Fair 2016
Minnesota State Fair 2018

vegan irish apple pie 2 gingers sara's tipsy pies minnesota state fairSara’s Tipsy Pies

16 thoughts on “Vegan Food at the Minnesota State Fair

  1. Pingback: Minnesota State Fair: Food Edition | One Girl, Two Cities

  2. Alison

    This list is great!! Thank you for putting it together. One note, I went to get some Dole Whip at Back to the 50s this year and I asked them if Dole Whip was dairy free – instead of giving me an answer, they let me read the package and I saw it contained caesin. So, I don’t think the Dole Whip is vegan, though I’ve seen it on a number of vegan lists. Maybe there ARE some stands with vegan Dole Whip, but I would think its all the same.

    1. Laura VanZandt Post author

      Thank you! I did a quick google search and the top hit for Dole Whip doesn’t list Casein so it’s possible the fair’s is vegan. I haven’t had it myself, but I’ll try to get back there and double check sometime in case no one else can confirm. 🙂

    2. Trisha

      Someone posted in my allergy group on Facebook that “We tried Dole Whip today as well! Only Pineapple and Raspberry are okay (do contain coconut), but the vanilla has a milk derivative.” So, if you were looking at the vanilla flavor, that would be why.

      Otherwise, thank you for putting together this list! My daughter is allergic to dairy, eggs, peanut and tree nuts and this helps a lot. We aren’t vegan so we can do some other meat items, but really looking forward to deep fried pickles, onion rings, and apple pie this year.

        1. Madison N

          Hey! I know for sure that the raspberry and pineapple dole whip are vegan. I get them every year from the Dole Whip stand and ask for the ingrediants every time. The vanilla one has casein, as previously stated

  3. Pingback: The Allergy Friendly Guide to the MN State Fair - Weightless Chronicles

  4. Jen (midwestvaygun)

    Hey! I used to have a list on an old blog and I wanted to offer that I was told by readers that the fried green tomatoes might not actually be vegan.

  5. Jessica Rasmussen

    FYI, Another vegan mentioned the non-dairy creme from the Strawberries and creme stand contains casein. The staff was confident the creme was vegan though.

  6. Pingback: Your Kosher(ish) Guide To The Minnesota State Fair | TC Jewfolk

  7. Pingback: Minnesota State Fair 2018 | One Girl, Two Cities

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.